Ольга Жарина

Декоратор Стилист Дизайнер

Ольга Жарина
Ольга Жарина
Ольга Жарина

Arbesbach Castle

Arbesbach Castle

The 25 metre ruined tower, which was originally part of a former Kuenring castle, has now been converted into an outlook tower providing a splendid panoramic view of the typical Waldviertel countryside. On clear days and after climbing the 176 steps to the top of the keep, visitors can enjoy breathtaking views of the stretch of Alps ranging from the Schneeberg to the Dachstein.

Arbesbach Castle

Arbesbach Castle was built at the end of the 12th century by Hadmar II of Kuenring on a 22-meter high granite rock. It consisted of a pentagonal 25-meter high keep on a rock, with a small bailey at the base of the rock. The castle served as an outwork for the bigger Rappottenstein Castle, some 15 kilometers away. It was a border fortification protecting the lands of the Kuenring family from the Slavs to the north.

In 1480 the castle was destroyed by a band of Bohemian troops after which it was never rebuilt. Later, during the 16th century, the keep partially collapsed after which the castle was left to fall to ruin.

Already in 1884 the keep was partially restored and a wooden contraption was built into it to act as a panoramic viewing platform by the Austrian Tourist Club. They then called the tower the ‘Alexanderwarte’. In 1975 this wooden ‘stairtower’ was rebuilt in stone.

The key to the outlook tower can be borrowed from the Huber Bakery (Arbesbach No. 27) at any time.

All on the Map

Поделитесь: